25_akihabara_05

Akihabara At Night

In my last post (which was, wow, over a year ago! Hi guys lol), I mentioned that the skies were overcast when we were out. Continuing with that day, by the time night fell, it was already raining in Akihabara when we got there. (On a side note: R and I fell asleep on the train on the way and woke up just as we missed Akihabara, haha. We got off at the next stop and hopped on a train back.) It wasn’t raining hard, then, but it wasn’t just a drizzle, either. The rain definitely put a damper on our spirits. Even so, we walked around the area for a bit to see what it was all about. 25_akihabara_01 25_akihabara_02

The area was brightly lit and was a sight to see despite of the rain.
The area was brightly lit and was a sight to see despite of the rain.
This girl and her companions were giving out flyers to encourage people to come to their maid cafe. R and I thought about it, but decided we weren't in the mood to go to one.
This girl and her companions were giving out flyers to encourage people to come to their maid cafe. R and I thought about it, but decided we weren’t in the mood to go to one.
25_akihabara_05
Aside from maid cafes, there’s this, haha. R and I aren’t big Gundam fans, so we skipped this one out as well. I do think it’s a must-try for fans.

25_akihabara_06

After going around several blocks, R and I decided to have our go-to for a mood pick-me-up: ramen, haha. This shop is called Hakata Fuuryuu, and eating here only further solidified my love for Hakata tonkotsu ramen.
After going around several blocks, R and I decided to have our go-to for a mood pick-me-up: ramen, haha. This shop is called Hakata Fuuryuu, and eating here only further solidified my love for Hakata tonkotsu ramen.
25_akihabara_08
Various seasoning to add to your ramen if you like. And of course, tissue for wiping your mouth with after all the slurping you will do.
I swear most Japanese shops are the most thoughtful in the whole world. I really like the idea of having hooks for hanging your coats up yourselves.
I swear most Japanese shops are the most thoughtful in the whole world. I really like the idea of having hooks for hanging your coats up yourselves.

Going to Akihabara:
– by train: most JR lines but notably the Yamanote Line, ride to Akihabara station
– by subway: ride the Hibiya line to Akihabara station

Visit my Japan page for more of my misadventures (and information, of course)!

Leave a Reply

