15_kinkakuji_08

Kinkaku-ji, The Golden Pavilion

After Nijo Castle, the Kinkaku-ji was our next stop. Also a UNESCO World Cultural Heritage site, the official name of Kinkaku-ji is Rokuon-ji. I’ve never heard anyone call it that, though. I suppose it’s really more known for its Golden Pavilion.
15_kinkakuji_01Before anything else, let me take a moment to appreciate the cute bus stops in Kyoto.😀 It tells you when the bus would be arriving in 4 minutes, 2 minutes, and soon, from right to left respectively. The left-most circle reads “mamonaku kimasu” which means “coming soon.”

15_kinkakuji_02At least this time, R and I know we’re in the right direction for sure, haha.
15_kinkakuji_03 15_kinkakuji_04Autumn leaves. Just… sigh.❤ R couldn’t stop squeeing, I swear.

And then our first glimpse of the pavilion…15_kinkakuji_05
I can’t remember exactly how I reacted, but I do remember having my breath taken away – as dramatic as that sounds, haha. Also thoughts like, “OMG it’s really GOLD.”

Unlike other temples, though, the Golden Pavilion can only be admired from afar. The public has no access inside. This may be an extreme preservation tactic, but for good reason: apparently, the temple has been burnt down many times in the past, with the last burning by arson. WTF WHO WOULD WANT TO BURN SUCH A BEAUTIFUL STRUCTURE.

For the curious, a description of what’s inside the Pavilion can be found here.

15_kinkakuji_06As much as we would have loved to stay and just keep staring at the Pavilion, R and I eventually walked on because it started drizzling. It was quite cloudy that day; I wonder how brilliant it would appear under the sun. *__* 15_kinkakuji_0715_kinkakuji_08We couldn’t resist from continuously taking photos of the Pavilion, though, even from afar. It’s just as majestic from a distance. 15_kinkakuji_09The path that leads to the other parts of the temple area had a lot of red-leafed trees.❤
15_kinkakuji_10Coins are tossed at these statues for luck. I didn’t throw anything because I felt throwing a 100-yen coin or lower would be too low an amount, but I don’t want to throw a 500-yen coin, either, haha. Or, okay, let’s just say I’m stingy. Meep.

To get to the Kinkaku-ji, ride Kyoto City bus numbers 12, 59, 101, 102, 204 or 205 and get off at the Kinkakuji-michi bus stop. You can also ride the JR Sanin Main Line and get off at Enmachi Station before riding a 205 bus, or via the Karasuma Subway Line and get off at Kitaoji Station before riding a 205 bus. The temple is about 3-5 minutes away from the Kinkakuji-michi bus stop. Entrance fee is 400 yen.

Visit my Japan page for more of my misadventures (and information, of course)!

6 thoughts on “Kinkaku-ji, The Golden Pavilion

Leave a Reply

