12_kiyomizu_03

Kiyomizu-dera revisited

R and I had a deal that we’d go back to Kiyomizu-dera after our visit from the Gekkeikan Okura Sake Museum if there was time. He wanted to take another picture of what was hopefully a clearer sunset than yesterday. We also wanted to peruse the stalls along Kiyomizu-zaka more thoroughly as we weren’t able to the last time; it seemed like most of the stores also close at sundown. As it turned out, we DID have time, so off we went to Kiyomizu-dera for the second time.🙂

12_kiyomizu_01 12_kiyomizu_02It’s unfortunate that some of the trees looked more brown than red. I would love to see how they look during spring.12_kiyomizu_03It’s safe to say that I think I’ve pretty much ruined my phone’s camera lens by always pointing it straight at the sun, haha. BUT I REGRET NOTHING.12_kiyomizu_04Fanning incense smoke towards you will apparently heal you from your illnesses. These high school boys seemed to be a little enthusiastic with it🙂12_kiyomizu_05R wanted to ‘people-watch’, so I left him at the main hall of the temple and wandered around. I came upon this area that I haven’t been to before. This section mostly had shops that sell omamori. This link explains what omamori are in detail12_kiyomizu_06Maybe I should have bought this one. HAHAHA.12_kiyomizu_07 12_kiyomizu_08 12_kiyomizu_09Apparently, the omamori for studying are the most popular. I can say this because the most buyers of omamori I’ve seen are students. I don’t have a picture of one but I’ve also seen an omamori specifically for passing examinations.12_kiyomizu_10And then I come across the “Love Stone” – or stones, really, because there are two of them. 12_kiyomizu_11This pretty much nicely explains what they are, haha. I’m not going to lie, I wanted to attempt walking from one stone to the other. But there were too many people in between the stones :p I don’t think I would’ve even if there were only a few people. I wonder if anyone’s actually attempted to!12_kiyomizu_12The path leading downwards and towards temple exit/entrance.12_kiyomizu_13This is the Otowa Waterfall, whose three streams are said to each offer a different benefit when you drink it – but apparently one shouldn’t drink from all three. Aside from making you look greedy, there’s a long line behind you so it would be best if you just move on, haha. And because of this long line, R and I didn’t drink from the waterfall. Merp. Next time!12_kiyomizu_14Red leaves! That is all. ♥

To get to Kiyomizu-dera, ride the Kyoto City buses number 100, 202, 206 or 207 and get off at the Kiyomizu-michi bus stop. (TIP: You can get a free Kyoto City bus sightseeing map at the Tourist Information Center in the Kyoto Station. I swear those maps saved mine and R’s lives while we were in Kyoto. SUPER useful!) From the bus stop, just follow where everyone else seems to be going. I’m not even kidding, haha. Admission is 300 yen. Visit their official website for more details.

Date visited: November 8, 2012.

Visit my Japan page for more of my misadventures (and information, of course)!

3 thoughts on “Kiyomizu-dera revisited

Leave a Reply

